logo logo logo

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) (3 - 5 years)

The EYFS curriculum is responsible for a child’s development from birth until they are 5 years old.  Here at BSU the EYFS curriculum begins at 3 years old and continues through to 5 years old:

Pre-school   (3 - 4 years old)

Reception    (4 - 5 years old)

It is our aim to nurture your child within a bright, stimulating and interactive learning environment thus enabling them to develop and enhance their skills and understanding.

There are 7 main areas of learning and development of the EYFS:


helping children become successful learners


enhancing and stretching knowledge

  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Mathematics
  • Communication and Language
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts


The emphasis at EYFS level is on learning in an interactive, fun and physical manner.  Activities are practical and, on the whole, will be child led.  After a short time children will be given the opportunity to access tasks that support the learning for that day.

Whilst the child is learning, the EYFS staff will be observing and supporting children, considering 3 Characteristics of Learning as they work with the children.

  • Playing and Exploring - engagement
  • Active Learning - motivation
  • Creative Learning - critical thinking

The EYFS curriculum will be the curriculum that is followed throughout pre-school and Reception at BSU.  It is intended that the programme will create independent, motivated and engaged learners who will have a strong, solid foundation on which to build from Year 1 up.

You can access the EYFS curriculum (from 0-5 years old) here: http://www.foundationyears.org.uk